Bernard Brodie Prize Contemporary Security Policy

Contemporary Security Policy

Contemporary Security Policy awards the Bernard Brodie Prize annually to the author of an outstanding article published in the journal the previous year.

The award is named for Dr. Bernard Brodie (1918-1978), author of The Absolute Weapon (1946), Strategy in the Missile Age (1958) and War and Strategy (1973), establishing ideas that remain at the centre of security debates to this day. One of the first analysts to cross between official and academic environments, he pioneered the model of civilian influence that CSP represents. Contemporary Security Policy is honoured to acknowledge the permission of Brodie’s son, Dr. Bruce R. Brodie, to use his father’s name.

The winning article and all of the articles on the shortlist for the 2018 Bernard Brodie Prize are freely available. You can also browse the full list of prize winning articles from previous years.

2018 Nominees

CSP Editor, Hylke Dijkstra, has compiled a shortlist for the 2018 Bernard Brodie Prize. The winner will be announced before the first issue of 2018 (Volume 39, Issue 1). 

2017 Winning Article

The winner of the 2017 Bernard Brodie Prize is: Trine Flockhart, ‘The coming multi-order world’, April 2016. 

This article was selected by a jury consisting of five members of the Editorial Board: Uday Bhaskar, David Haglund, Aaron Karp, Derek McDougall and Edward Rhodes.

The End of International Order? | Professor Trine Flockhart

Watch Trine Flockhart talk about her prize winning paper.

The End of International Order? | Professor Trine Flockhart

Previous Prize Winning Articles