Longuet-Higgins Early Career Researcher Prize Molecular Physics: An International Journal at the Interface Between Chemistry and Physics

Every year the Editors of Molecular Physics award the Longuet-Higgins Early Career Researcher Prize of US$1000 to a talented, early career writer who has written for the journal in the preceding year and whose article was published within 5 years of being awarded their PhD. Submissions from authors who have not yet completed their PhD are also welcome. The winner is an author who is judged to have made a significant contribution to a top quality paper which has been published in the Journal the previous year.

The Editors may also award a number of additional ‘Molecular Physics Early Career Researcher Prizes’ at their discretion to nominated early career authors who deserve special mention.

We hope that these prizes will highlight and inspire high quality work from the next generation of researchers.

Want to nominate an author for the 2018 prize? – read below to find out how!

Who is eligible for the 2018 prize?

  • Authors studying for a PhD
  • Authors who published their article within 5 years of being awarded their PhD
  • Authors whose paper is/will be published in Molecular Physics, Volume 116, 2018
  • Author publishing in any subject covered by the journal, theoretical, or experimental

How can you nominate an early career writer for the 2018 prize?

  • All senior co-authors or the nominee's PhD supervisors are able to nominate someone for the award
  • You will need to complete a simple online nomination form, giving information about the nominee’s work and contribution
  • The nomination form can be found here.

How is the winner chosen?

  • The Editors of the Journal will decide the winner
  • The Editors may call for expert assistance in making their decision
  • The decision by the Editors is final

Read more about Christopher Longuet-Higgins (1923 – 2004) here.

Read the full terms and conditions.

Winners in 2017

Winners in 2016

Congratulations to the 2016 Longuet-Higgins Prize Winner – Dr Timothy Hele, Cambridge University and Cornell University.

Winners in 2015

Congratulations to Helen van Aggelen, Princeton University & Ghent University - Winner of the 2015 award.

Winners of 2014

Congratulations to George Booth, the winner in 2014!

Winners in 2013

Congratulations! to Dr. Łukasz Walewski, the winner of the Longuet-Higgins Early Career Researcher Prize in 2013.

In this article, listed below, Walewski and coworkers describe results of imaginary-time path integral calculations of molecules and dimers containing H atoms at sub-liquid helium temperatures. A remarkable effect is reported, namely the compression of protons in hydrogen bonds to a volume in space that is comparable to - or even smaller than - that of the much heavier donor and acceptor atoms at ultralow temperatures.

Congratulations also go to Felix H. J. Hall and Andrew P. Jones, who both receive Molecular Physics Early Career Researcher Prizes for their respective papers, also listed below.

Interview with Dr. Łukasz Walewski

Winners in 2012

Congratulations to Alex Wiederkehr, the winner in 2012.

Listen to a podcast with the winning author here and read the transcript here.

You can read Alex's profile here.

Winners in 2011

Congratulations to Niels Boon, the winner in 2011.

Read the winning author's profile here.

Winners in 2010

Congratulations to David Case, the prize winner in 2010.

Read the winner's profile here.

Winners in 2009

Congratulations to B. Lokegowda Bhargava, the winning author in 2009.

You can read the winner's profile here.

Christopher Longuet-Higgins Collection

Christopher Longuet-Higgins and John van der Waals were visionaries who, in 1958, established Molecular Physics.
They set out for the Journal to serve the community and “bring together papers on the physics of molecules, papers which might otherwise escape the notice of many interested readers”.

As an established chemist, at the forefront of research at the interface between Chemistry and Physics, Christopher Longuet-Higgins published numerous papers in Molecular Physics which we have listed below. A pioneer in Theoretical Chemistry, he made outstanding contributions in Quantum Chemistry and Statistical Mechanics. For example his work on the symmetry of non-rigid molecules is highly renowned [Molecular Physics, 6, 445-460 (1963)], and in the theory of the condensed matter, Longuet-Higgins and Widom [Molecular Physics, 8, 549 – 556 (1964)] extended the classic mean-field theory of condensation to the freezing transition, these ideas providing the basis of modern thermodynamic perturbation theories of the liquid state. Christopher Longuet-Higgins influenced and inspired many scientists publishing today.