Charles Broyden Prize Optimization Methods and Software

Optimization Methods and Software

The prize was established by the Optimization Methods and Software Editorial Board and Taylor & Francis in 2009. It is awarded annually to the best paper published in the journal from the previous year with a cash prize of £500 and promotion of the winning article, which is made freely available for the following year.

Charles George Broyden received international recognition for his seminal 1965 paper, in which he proposed two methods for solving systems of equations. They later became known as Broyden’s methods. Another of his most important achievements was the derivation of the Broyden-Fletcher-Goldfarb-Shanno (BFGS) updating formula, one of the key tools used in optimization. Moreover, he was among those who derived the symmetric rank-one updating formula, and his name is also attributed to the Broyden family of quasi-Newton methods. Charles G. Broyden died in May 2011 at the age of 78.

The Prize Committee:

  • Jonathan Eckstein, Rutgers University, Piscataway, USA
  • Michael Hintermueller, Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany
  • Fabio Schoen, Università di Firenze, Italy
  • Philippe Toint (committee chair), University of Namur, Belgium
  • Ya-xiang Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

The Charles Broyden Prize for the 2017 volume is awarded to:

Non-asymptotic confidence bounds for the optimal value of a stochastic program
by Vincent Guigues, Anatoli Juditsky & Arkadi Nemirovski 

The prize committee noticed the following:

“The paper develops a non-asymptotic lower bound for a stochastic program based on stochastic average approximation (SAA) and the authors show that the accuracy of the optimal value is almost independent of the dimension of parameter space. This well motivated contribution provides fundamental insight in a theoretically and practically important subject. The results are non trivial and well explained.”

Award-winning articles