The Curriculum Journal Editors’ Choice Paper Prize The Curriculum Journal

The Curriculum Journal

The editors of The Curriculum Journal are delighted to announce the winner of the Editors’ Choice Paper Prize for Volume 27 (2016):

'‘Powerful knowledge’ curriculum theories and the case of physics' - Lyn Yates & Victoria Millar (Volume 27, Issue 3)

Also shortlisted were:

  • 'Comparing international curriculum systems: the international instructional systems study' - Brian Creese, Alvaro Gonzalez & Tina Isaacs (Volume 27, Issue 1)
  • 'Learning intentions and success criteria: learners' and teachers' views' - Hazel Crichton & Ann McDaid (Volume 27, Issue 2)
  • 'Learning to learn: improving attainment, closing the gap at Key Stage 3' - James Mannion & Neil Mercer (Volume 27, Issue 2)
  • 'Mapping creativity in the Hungarian National Core Curriculum: a content analysis of the overall statements of intent, curricular areas and education levels' - Enikő Orsolya Bereczki (Volume 27, Issue 3)

Criteria for selection for the Editors’ Choice Paper Prize are as follows:


  • Originality of contribution with an emphasis on innovation in one or more of the following, theoretical development, empirical work or policy development.

Academic Rigour

  • Quality of argument including critical analysis of concepts, theories and findings and coherence of argument
  • Clarity of position including clear contextualisation of the paper in international literature, author’s/s’ position and convincing conclusion

Writing Style

  • Clarity of writing style, readability and organisation

Significance to the Journal

  • Has the potential to make a significant contribution to knowledge related to the educational phases that impact on children from the early years to adulthood in the context of the journal aims in relation to the curriculum.

Browse award-winning research below and enjoy free access for the 2016 winning article for a limited time. 

Award-winning articles