Aerosol Science and Technology Contribute to our special issue on Air Sensors

Aerosol Science and Technology

New, small, inexpensive sensors are appearing on the market that measure, often in real time, a wide range of air quality parameters. This field is moving quickly with the potential to map local air quality, empower communities to better understand and advocate for better air quality, and possibly supplant or supplement conventional regulatory air quality monitors. The Air Sensors International Conference (ASIC) was held in September 2018 at the Oakland Convention Center, Oakland, California, USA, to bring together academics, industry, and communities to communicate the latest progress in new air quality sensors and what the future holds.

This special issue of Aerosol Science and Technology will publish papers derived from or related to talks given at ASIC; submissions are not exclusive to papers presented at ASIC; all papers pertaining to the listed topics are welcome. AS&T is seeking submissions related to the following topics:

  • Particle Sensor Design and Evaluation
  • Gas and Vapor Sensor Design and Evaluation
  • Particle Sensor Data Assimilation, Analytics, Fusion
  • Mobile Deployment
  • Particle source characterization using sensor networks and novel data analytics
  • Air Pollution and Health
  • Performance Standards

Submission instructions

Aerosol Science and Technology will be accepting submissions for the Special Issue from October 1, 2018 to February 1, 2019. A preface to this Special Issue will be written by ASIC organizers Suresh Dhaniyala and Paul Solomon.

Before submitting your paper, please refer to the Instructions for Authors page. When submitting your manuscript, please indicate “yes” in the box asking if it is a candidate for a special issue and select “Special Issue on Air Sensors” from the dropdown menu.

Editorial information

  • Editor-in-Chief: Warren Finlay, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Alberta, Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering (finlay@ualberta.ca)
  • Editor: Yannis Drossinos, European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Ispra, Italy (yannis.drossinos@ec.europa.eu)
  • Editor: Jingkun Jiang, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China (jiangjk@tsinghua.edu.cn)
  • Editor: Pramod Kulkarni, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Cincinnati, OH (ewg7@cdc.gov)
  • Editor: Matti Maricq, Ford Motor Company, Dearborn, MI (mmaricq@ford.com)
  • Editor: Hans Moosmüller, Desert Research Institute , Reno, NV (hansm@dri.edu)
  • Editor: Kihong Park, Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Gwangju, Korea (kpark@gist.ac.kr)
  • Editor: Tiina Reponen, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH (tiina.reponen@uc.edu)
  • Editor: Nicole Riemer, University of Illinois at Urbana, Champaign, Urbana, IL (nriemer@illinois.edu)
  • Editor: Ilona Riipinen, Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden (ilona.riipinen@aces.su.se)
  • Editor: Mark Swihart, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, NY (swihart@buffalo.edu)
  • Editor: Jing Wang, ETH Zurich/Empa, Zurich, Switzerland (jing.wang@ifu.baug.ethz.ch)
  • Editor: Paul J. Ziemann, University of California, Riverside, CA (paul.ziemann@colorado.edu)